What I want for Christmas

Lamborghinis, a love story ❤ The design, the performance, the noise, they will always make my head spin! When I saw a Lamborghini Aventador for the very first time, at a launch event, I was amazed. Definitely my favourite (new) car.

So imagine my excitement when they launched the Aventador roadster: the same crazy car, with a free hairstyle after each ride.

NWVT - Little Miss Piston - Aventador Roadster

Is it fast? Erm… yes ^_^ The Roadster hits a top speed of 217mph (same as the coupe) and sprints to 62mph in 3 seconds (just 0.1sec slower). It weights 1,625 kg,  an extra 50 kg compared to the coupe version. The Aventador’s 6.5-litre, 691bhp V12 remains the same: it will still brutally rearrange your internal organs 😀

Three driving modes: Stradale, Sport and Corsa. If you really want to have fun, set it to “sport” mode which offers the greater proportion of torque allocated to the rear wheels, pure driving madness! If you don’t want to have too much fun, you can chose the Corsa mode, you’ll go faster than in the Sport settings but I found it definitely less entertaining. 

They also made some changes to the transmission software, resulting in slightly smoother gearshift. 

NWVT - Little Miss Piston - Aventador Roadster

The roof now… If you’re lazy, you won’t like this part. Nothing automatic here, you have to do it all and imperil one or two fingers in the process. But personally, I liked it, it made me think about a giant Origami… The two-piece hard-top is made of carbon fibre, which makes it very light, less than 3kg per panel. You can store them away in a compartment in the nose. Once you’ve done that, you can maybe fit a toiletry bag.

NWVT - Little Miss Piston - Aventador Roadster

The interior is gob smacking. Once you’re sat in the beautiful leather-trimmed seats, you can check out all the detail in the interior, all very angular but harmonious, it reminds me of a jet-fighter, ready to fly! TFT display instruments (and unlike most eye-catching instruments, this one also really works), little flap hiding the start-stop button… And not only this car looks awesome, it’s also comfy! Take that damn Ferrari 458! It took me two weeks to recover from this back ache!

However, the 458 has one advantage: it’s cheaper. So is the McLaren 12C. The Aventador roadster will cost you nearly 300 grand (£294,660).

NWVT - Little Miss Piston - Aventador Roadster

To sum it up, this is a real treat. I love it. Santa, I know I don’t have anymore parking spaces at my house, but I’m sure I can sort something out…. See you on the 25th? 😉

NWVT - Little Miss Piston - Aventador roadster

These awesome shots are kindly brought to you by Nick Williams who photographed the Aventador Roadster in London, Manchester and Pangbourne during a little H.R. Owen road trip. Check out his Facebook page for more photos 🙂

Leave a comment