Initial Drive – more reasons to move to Japan

I was born in the wrong country. I swear I was meant to be Japanese… I’ve always been in love with this country and its culture, traditions, landscapes, people… swords, manga, video games, their obsessive white kitty with no mouth, everything! And of course, as you probably guessed if you’re a regular reader, I’m crazy about japanese cars.

In my teenage bedroom, you’d find a full collection of Initial D manga on my bookshelves, and a miniature of Takumi’s modified Toyota Sprinter AE86 Trueno on my bed table.

The anime series didn’t really work for me though… And years later, back in 2005, they released Initial D the film. Despite many changes to the original story, the movie was a great success and actually got nominated for multiple awards. If you’ve never seen it, you should really check it out, some awesome drifting action!

initial d

Anyway, now you know about my passion for Japan, Japanese cars, driving roads and Initial D. So imagine my face this morning when I saw this:

Initial D tourAn Initial D tour! I felt like a kid at Christmas while I was reading details of the tour. And then I remembered I’m thousands of miles away from Japan…

“You will be put behind the wheel of legendary Japanese sports cars. You will be driving on the famous mountain roads of Hakone, with the undulating roads that will offer even the most experienced driver a great time. These roads spawned a manga series called Initial D, you will be able to see specific scenes from the manga series.”

Blergh… Enough 😥

“Overlooking the majestic Mount Fuji, the Hakone region and surrounding lakes provide an automotive enthusiast riches of unparalleled beauty and supreme driving conditions all year round.”

What can you expect at the starting line? Well, Initial D cars obviously: Nissan R35, RX7 FD3S, NA8C, the famous AE86, Honda NSX, the original Godzilla R32, Honda S2000, and a KGC10.

Line Up

To make it short, I’m gutted. I wish I could take Rex there. But if you are in Japan, you should definitely check out their website (and join the tour and send me flight tickets). This tour is organised by the guys at 7Tune, have a look at their Facebook page, lots of Japanese awesome ^_^

7Tune logoBye! x

Leave a comment